Ambassadorial nominees’ list cannot be changed – SGF

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), David Babachir David Lawal and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama, on Tuesday told the Senate that the list of 47 ambassadorial nominees sent to the Senate by President Muhamnadu Buhari cannot be changed.

The duo insisted that the ambassadorial nominees, picked on the prerogative of the President, “do not need to cut across the 36 states of the federation as was the case with ministerial nominees.”

Lawal and Onyeama made the submission when they appeared before the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs.

The committee had invited them over alleged lopsidedness in the list of ambassadorial nominees.

Four states – Ondo, Bayelsa, Ebonyi and Plateau – claimed that they were excluded from the nominees’ list.

The SGF in his explanations noted that the list was based on certain criteria.

He said that 32 out of the 36 states in the federation were captured, which to him, showed substantial compliance to the federal character principles.

Lawal said part of the criteria used in the selection of the nominees apart from their respective records of service, was change compatibility value of the nominee in line with the change agenda of the present administration.

He said, “You must understand the mindset of this government. It is a change government. It is important that whoever is going to be on board in this government, who is going to play one role or the other must be somebody that we will like to call change compatible. He must establish his integrity, his qualification on the job and his ability to deliver on the job.”

The SGF, however, assured the committee that the four states omitted in the list would be compensated in the non- career list that would soon be forwarded to the Senate by President Buhari.

About Dunio Mabushi


Post a comment