Senate Rules Forgery: FG Files Charges Against Saraki, Ekweremadu, Maikasuwa

The Federal Government has filed charges at the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) High Court, Abuja, against the

Senate President, Bukola Saraki,

Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu,

over the alleged forgery of the Senate Standing Rules.

Others are the immediate past Clerk to the National Assembly,
Abubakar Maikasuwa
and the
Deputy Clerk to the National Assembly, Benedict Efeturi.

Federal Government of Nigeria (Complainant) slammed a two-count charge of “criminal conspiracy, contrary to Section 97 of the Penal Code Law” and “Forgery contrary to 362 of the Penal Code Law” against Salisu Abubakar Maikasuwa, Benedict Efeturi, Dr. Olubukola Saraki, and Ike Ekweremadu.

In its Particulars of Offence to count one, the Federal Government alleged that the accused persons committed the offence of Conspiracy, punishable under Section 97 (1) of the Penal Code Law.

The Federal Government further alleged that Saraki, Ekweremadu and others caused the Standing Order to be believed as the genuine Standing Orders, 2015 and circulated same for use during the inauguration of the 8th Senate of the National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and thereby committed an offence punishable under Section 364 of the Penal Code Law.

The charge sheet dated 10th June 2016 was signed by D.E Kaswe Esq., Principal State Counsel on behalf of the Attorney-General of the Federation and backed by an Affidavit of Completion of Investigation deposed to at the Federal High Court Registry, Abuja on the same date by Okara Neji Jonah, a Litigation Officer at the Federal Ministry of Justice, Abuja.

Listed as witnesses in the suit, which has been assigned to Hon. Justice Yusuf Haliru for hearing are,
Senator Othman Hunkuyi,
Senator Ahmed Lawan,
Senator Abdullahi Gumel,
Senator Kabiru Marafa,
Senator Robert Boroffice,
Senator Gbenga Ashafa,
Senator Abu Ibrahim,
all members of the Senate Unity Forum (SUF), the group of Senators that pushed unsuccessfully for the election of Senator Lawan as the Senate President.

Other witnesses include former Chairman, Senate Committee on Rules and Business, currently Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang;
Deputy Inspector-General of Police (DIG) in charge of FCIID
and one of the contenders for the Office of the IGP, Dan’Azumi Doma, and Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Senator Ojudu Babafemi.

Isyaka Laminu Badamasi
Nuru Shehu Toro
Bulus Atsen
Ali Wakili
Shehu Sani

About Dunio Mabushi


Post a comment